Some people think that the most important thing about being rich is it gives a person the opportunity to help other people. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, along with the development of modern society, there are increasing opportunities for people to earn more money and have extra funds. Some people insist that being rich gives a person the chance to help others. However, from my perspective, I believe that helping others is not their responsibility. This essay will outline some reasons for my idea, and provide necessary examples.

It is undeniable that people with the better financial condition have more opportunities to help others. When a person has more money than they need to afford their lives, they are more likely to donate it to charity works. In that way, they can contribute to upgrading the quality of the poor’s lives. For example, if the living expense for one person in the USA is around $1000 per month, people who earn around $2000 may be more likely to make a charitable donation. Indeed, many stars and millionaires have constantly contributed to reduce the number of financially disadvantaged families or reduce the number of slums in their countries.

However, people should not assume that helping the poor is the rich’s responsibility. To earn money, they also have to work hard, therefore, they have the right to enjoy the results of their work. Especially in the civilized society as nowadays, people can independently choose the way they spend their money if it is legal. In fact, there have not been any rules that tell people with more prosperities to support the poorer ones.

In conclusion, although there are more opportunities for the rich to help others, this practice is actually not their responsibility. In my view, to promote more equality in society, there should be more proper charity organizations, funds, and campaigns instead of incorrect norms and assumptions.