Some people do not go directly to college but travel or work for a short time. Do you think it has more advantages or disadvantages?

There is a growing tendency among students to have a gap-year for travel or work prior to their tertiary education. Although the benefits are foreseeable, I would argue that the drawbacks are greater.

On the one hand, taking a short period of time away from school is advantageous to school leavers. Firstly, this is considered as a short break to unwind after years of schooling. Many schoolboys and schoolgirls have to suffer from the pressure of achievements which they are supposed to make. Secondly, spending a gap-year for travelling or working provides the young people with hands-on experience that is useful for their future jobs. What is more, they can make some money to support their lives; some can save for their higher education.

On the other hand, the disadvantages from this trend are many. Perhaps the most significant impact is that students struggle to come back to study as a feeling of falling behind their classmates. According to some researches, many of them, who have registered to tertiary education, have failed in their exams or dropped out of school after a gap-year. Additionally, students are lured to satisfy with the incomes they make from their temporary jobs. This leads them to a sense of distraction from study as they believe they can earn their livings.

To sum up, having a certain amount of time to work or travel between school years brings both pros and cons. However, from my perspective, its risks have been outweighed by the potential benefits.