Some people feel that boarding schools are an excellent option for children, while other people disagree for a number of reasons. Consider both sides of this debate and reach a conclusion.

It is often said that children should be sent to boarding schools due to its huge benefits, whereas some people feel that this is not an advisable decision. There are valid arguments on both sides, which I will discuss and give a concluding view now.

On the one hand, supporters of boarding schools claim that students seem to learn to live more independently in such places, as they have to take care of themselves in many aspects. In fact, this could probably lead to them becoming increasingly self-reliant, which may be an excellent preparation for youngsters before entering their adult lives. However, it must be said that many students appear to lack emotional supports from their parents because they have to stay away from their families. Examples can be seen in many primary pupils living in boarding schools, who could feel cut-off and stressful, resulting in their academic underperformances.

On the other hand, opponents of this view point out that there are two main advantages which only day schools can provide. Firstly, many kids have the needs to join in various extracurricular activities such as doing sports or playing musical instruments with the sole purpose of relaxing. It must be said that students may not be provided with such activities if they are in boarding schools. Secondly, it seems vitally important for children to learn patterns of behaviors from their parents, as this could be maximized by interactions among family members. This can help kids to cultivate their civic sense, so that they will become productive members of society later on.

In conclusion, it is logical to conclude that children attending ordinary schools may gain more advantages such as having time to pursue their hobbies or developing proper behavioral patterns compared to those who stay in boarding ones. It would appear that children should only attend boarding schools as long as they are interested in.