Crime appears to be rising in most countries in the world, especially among young people. Identify the possible causes of this trend, and propose some solutions you think would be effective.

It is true that there is a noticeable growth in the number of young offenders in many countries. There seem to be two main causes, and two key solutions, which I will outline now.

Perhaps the most widely-observed root could be the chronic unemployment, meaning that many youngsters are joblessness and suffer financial hardships. In fact, this might reduce their standards of living, potentially prompting them to get involved in petty crimes such as shoplifting with a sole purpose of earning more money. A second common factor could be that truancy seems increasingly popular among students in high schools, as such young adults tend to have no interests in studying. This could increase the possibility of joining in gangs, thus being tempted to commit offences such as vandalism due to peers’ pressure.

Turning to possible remedies, perhaps the most immediate step would be to arrange more talk shows between ex-prisoners and youngsters. If more stories, experiences and advice related to criminal lives were provided by these released inmates, students could understand more about serious impacts of bad behaviors on their career prospects and be discouraged to become wrongdoers. Another long-term way could be for schools to help students with learning difficulties to overcome their issues. If such young learners were supported in terms of realizing their potential strengths and weaknesses, they would become more interested in their learning and eventually make progressions. This might make more students to lead a more productive lifestyle, decreasing the likelihood of playing truant.

In conclusion, it would appear that the high crime rates among young people in many countries tend to deprive from being unemployed and playing truant; however, a coordinated response by the state and schools may well lessen the severity of the situation.