Some people feel that it is always wrong to keep animals in captivity for instance in zoo. Other people say that there are benefits for the animals and for humans. Discuss both sides of this debate and give your personal view.

It is acclaimed by some people that captivating animals in zoo is immoral and should not be accepted, whereas others and I believe this action is beneficial to both the animals and humans. In this essay, I will shed light on both sides of the matter and support my opinion by some reasons bellow.

On the one hand, it is true that animal should be given freedom in wild habitats instead of being jailed in puny cages at zoos, as in these ares, animal can develop their instinctions naturally. For instance, immature lions which live in wild environment in Madagascar can learn to hunt by themselves in their early ages. Under the supervisor and training of the lions’ parents, they learn several survival skills such as seeking for predators, moving without sounds or fighting to protect their colony. In fact, animals can live a real life in wild habitats since it is where they belong to.

On the other hand, it is perfectly possible for many species of animals living in zoos or wildlife parks to have a quality of life as high as, or even higher than in the wild. This is due to the fact that animals living in zoos not only are provided with nutritious and high-quality diets, but also are taken care thoroughly when they are suffering from illness. Moreover, the threat of animals died in the jaw of predators as well as social ostracism between them will be limited, which contributed to greater life expectancy of animals. In addition, when animals are captivated, it will be much more easier to conduct researches about numerous aspects of them, thereby humans can both gain more knowledge and come up with solutions to aid these still in the wild. To illustrate, studies on the oestrus cycle of an animals or its breeding rates help scientists figure out ways to manage animals’ wild population.

Ultimately, although it is much more enjoyable for animals to live in the wild, the long term benefits of living in the zoos or wildlife parks is undeniable. In my opinion, I deem that humans ought to take the initiative in renovating and improving the quality of captivating areas so that animals can enjoy their life in safety.