Everyone can agree that it is important to encourage young people to eat healthy meals when at school. However, the source of these meals is a debated topic. Some feel schools must be responsible for providing young people with meals, while other argue parents best uphold this responsibility. This essay will analyze both sides of this debate before drawing a conclusion.

Firstly, it is often argued that a standard for healthfulness can be monitor when meals are prepared and served by the school. For example, most Japanese high schools provide students with hot lunches and monthly meal plan that are closely monitored by the school to ensure all students are eating a balanced and healthful diet. As this sort of monitoring is not possible when each and every student is bringing a different lunch from home, the benefits of such an approach to primary and secondary meal options can be seen.

However, the cultural impact of such standardized meal practice should be remembered. For instance, major cities like Toronto boast a very ethnically-diverse student base. As these students are from differnt ethnicities and backgrounds, their dietary preferences vary widely. Expecting these students to conform to a standardized school meal may be an affront to their culture and palate. Thus, there are clear benefits is the most beneficial approach to nourishing primary and secondary students.

The above discussion puts forth several convincing arguments for both sides of this debate. However, in the interest of the healthfulness of young people, it is felt that a standardized lunch organized and carried out by school is the most beneficial approach to nourishing primary and secondary students.