Some people get into debt by buying things they don't need or can't afford.

What is the reason for this behavior?

What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

A great number of people become debtors because of the habit of purchasing items they do not need or cannot afford. This behavior stems from the effects of advertisements, and to prevent people from having this problem, advertisements should be managed strictly.

Owing to the impacts of advertisements, more and more people tend to buy goods that are not necessary or even unaffordable, leading to debt. Advertisements on television or social media, such as Facebook, can be enticing, which eventually creates an impulse to purchase the promoted goods even though they are not essential at that moment. In case the goods are too expensive, these people may use their credit cards or borrow money from friends or relatives to buy the goods. For example, in Vietnam, a high portion of young adults are intrigued by Apple's advertisements and borrow money from the bank or friends just to buy the company's latest products.

A possible solution to prevent people from having this problem is to strictly control advertisements shown on mass media. These companies must not be allowed to falsify and exaggerate their products' use and benefits in their advertisements. If such misleading advertisements are shown, the companies should be fined heavily by the government. For instance, in the US, if an advertisement is claimed to be misleading and providing incorrect information about the product, the company must immediately stop the advertising campaign and pay a fine of up to $10,000.

In conclusion, the behavior of people getting into debt by buying unnecessary and unaffordable goods is mainly caused by advertisements. To mitigate and prevent the problem, strict laws and control over advertisements should be conducted.