Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and avoiding change. Others, however, think
that change is always a good thing.
Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.
Over the last half century the pace of change in the life of human beings has increased beyond our
wildest expectations. This has been driven by technological and scientific breakthroughs that are
changing the whole way we view the world on an almost daily basis. This means that change is not
always a personal option, but an inescapable fact of life, and we need to constantly adapt to keep
pace with it.
Those people who believe they have achieved some security by doing the same, familiar things are
living in denial. Even when people believe they are resisting change themselves, they cannot stop
the world around them from changing. Sooner or later they will find that the familiar jobs no longer
exist, or that the ‘safe’ patterns of behaviour are no longer appropriate.
However, reaching the conclusion that change is inevitable is not the same as assuming that
‘change is always for the better’. Unfortunately, it is not always the case that new things are
promoted because they have good impacts for the majority of people. A lot of innovations are made
with the aim of making money for a few. This is because it is the rich and powerful people in our
society who are able to impose changes (such as in working conditions or property developments)
that are in their own interests.
In conclusion, I would say that change can be stimulating and energising for individuals when they
pursue it themselves, but that all change, including that which is imposed on people, does not
necessarily have good outcomes.