Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful
educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse
effect on the people who play them.
In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?
There have been endless arguments over the possible impact of video games upon
players. Much as the dispute in favor of the significance of the advantages of those
games is legitimate, personally I believe they are still outweighed by the
disadvantages.
On the one hand, some certain benefits of video games are undeniable. Firstly, they
are functioning as a source of harmless entertainment. In modern time, daily
performances always go along with a huge amount of stress from studying and
working, hence the higher demand for relaxation. As a matter of fact, the world is
seeing an increasing number of not only youngsters but also adults who play video
games to alleviate the intensity of their academic studies or hard-working
occupations. Secondly, it is also proved that playing games can enhance logical
thinking and problems solving skills since players are forced to use their brain to
complete the game.
On the other hand, I would argue that those video games present more
disadvantages. Video games are highly addictive, and that players are constantly
given more stages in these games leads to their negligence on other important
activities since the temptation of clearing those stages is sometimes irresistible. If
time is spent excessively on games, players’ daily routine, studying or working for
instance, will suffer. More dangerously, many crime cases have been reported
recently with the motive of getting money to play video games. Especially young
people are more likely to get involved in robbery or even murder as their addiction to
games cannot be sufficed by their current budget.
In conclusion, although video games’ entertaining and educational benefits are
widely recognized, I still think that the drawbacks are more significant.