In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you
think this is a positive or negative development?
In recent years it has become far more normal for people to live alone, particularly in large cities in the
developed world. In my opinion, this trend could have both positive and negative consequences in equal
measure.
The rise in one-person households can be seen as positive for both personal and broader economic
reasons. On an individual level, people who choose to live alone may become more independent and selfreliant
than those who live with family members. A young adult who lives alone, for example, will need to
learn to cook, clean, pay bills and manage his or her budget, all of which are valuable life skills; an
increase in the number of such individuals can certainly be seen as a positive development. From an
economic perspective, the trend towards living alone will result in greater demand for housing. This is
likely to benefit the construction industry, estate agents and a whole host of other companies that rely on
homeowners to buy their products or services.
However, the personal and economic arguments given above can be considered from the opposite angle.
Firstly, rather than the positive feeling of increased independence, people who live alone may experience
feelings of loneliness, isolation and worry. They miss out on the emotional support and daily conversation
that family or flatmates can provide, and they must bear the weight of all household bills and
responsibilities; in this sense, perhaps the trend towards living alone is a negative one. Secondly, from the
financial point of view, a rise in demand for housing is likely to push up property prices and rents. While
this may benefit some businesses, the general population, including those who live alone, will be faced
with rising living costs.
In conclusion, the increase in one-person households will have both beneficial and detrimental effects on
individuals and on the economy.