Many people believe economic development is the only solution to end hunger and poverty, while others think
that economic growth should be stopped due to the harmful effects it has on the environment. In this essay, I will
examine both arguments and then give my personal opinion.
It is true that economic growth has taken a heavy toll on the environment. Firstly, the ever increasing demand
for industrial development has led to the construction of more factories and manufacturing facilities, which has
significantly raised the volume of atmospheric greenhouse gases, which are considered to be the main culprit
behind global warming. Furthermore, human activities, such as clearing forests for farming, are directly
responsible for the loss of natural habitats for many wild plants and animals, pushing these species to the
verge of extinction. This, together with the unsustainable exploitation of natural resources, poses serious
threats to the survival of mankind, especially with today’s rapidly increasing population.
However, trying to stop the economy from developing, due to the drawbacks, is not a rational approach, for
economic growth is still the most effective measure to tackle poverty and hunger. A healthy economy will
create more employment opportunities for those who come from underprivileged backgrounds, and thus
ensure stable income for these people. Therefore, they will be able to earn enough money to cover basic living
expenses. Besides this, economic growth also has a crucial role to play in the fight against hunger. With a
more generous budget to invest in agricultural development, for example, governments can invest in modern
machinery to automate the labour-intensive processes of growing and harvesting crops. Such a boost in
productivity will increase food production and eventually put an end to hunger.
In conclusion, it is understandable why many people believe that economic growth should be stopped to protect our
environment, however, I think the government should not rely on such a desperate measure because the benefits
brought about by economic growth, not only in the fight against poverty and hunger, are far more significant than the
drawbacks.