Some people say that at all levels of education, from primary school to university, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that students from every level of education are wasting their time learning useless theory instead of spending them on practical experiences. I totally disagree with that because theories are the root of everything in the world as it is also too dangerous to practice what we do not know.

The theoretical background is expanding from small ideas and they have created the world we are living in now. They were suggested from human’s curiosity and base on them, we were able to build up every building, invention, and our lives. If we stop thinking of new ideas, our world will stand still through thousands of years with no development. As a result, if students spend less time learning facts, then they cannot brainstorm and become smarter, which is the most important thing humans need to do. In other words, learning theories is one of the main keys to developing our world.

On the other hand, our world contains many mysterious things, so it may cause harm if we do not spend time working on it. For instance, our lives used to be threatened by natural disasters because we knew nothing about them so we cannot make up any plan to prevent the damage. However, through years of learning about geography, science, we can forecast rains, tsunami, earthquakes accurately, … and make our lives safer. The major reason for our safety is because of learning facts, learning that the water level will rise up before a flood or strong wind is a signal of an upcoming storm,… Whatsoever, we must spend a huge amount of time to learn about the facts, or we may die because of our lack of knowledge.

In conclusion, learning facts and finding new theories is our duty. Therefore, students and teachers must stride a balance between studying theoretical knowledge and doing practical projects to bring back the best productivity of learning.