Some people say that art subjects such as painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that whether high school students should be forced to take art courses or not. I completely agree with that they should learn art.

There are several reasons why those who oppose the idea would argue that students should not take art courses. Firstly, taking art courses are wasting students' valuable time. E.g. students can use that time to do some English exercises or some of them do not consider themselves have talents in art. Secondly, it costs an amount of money of art that would be a burden of parts of students from poverty background because of needing to buy new art tools for courses. Finally, scores of art would not affect the exam for applying to colleges for most students that makes them deem art is useless and do not need care about art, and results in certain students feel bored when taking art courses.

On the other hand, I would agree that taking art courses are necessary for them. Art subjects like sketching, sculpture and film appreciation could broaden pupils' horizon and arouse their creativity. For example, when I was in the high school, I learned from the film appreciation course about using different angles to analyze the meaning of films, which was I never done before. Since then, I have started observing this world in detailed, which made I have found that there is so much beauty in everywhere and become a method of releasing my pressure from other subjects such as mathematics. Moreover, it cultivated my patience and attention that enhanced in both painting and sculpture courses at the same time.

In conclusion, I do believe that those students would be beneficial to taking art subjects than not taking them.