In the modern world, the debate of whether money should be invested in establishing sports facilities in improving healthy lifestyle has gained a significant attention from general public. I am of the belief that sports complexes are not the best answer and education is a more suitable option.

People who advocate the idea that there should be more recreation facilities might argue that the greater availability of those sports centres would encourage people to work out frequently. Hence, people's health can be improved. While i partly agree with this view but it is unlikely to have an effect on unhealthy masses. Most health problems do not stem from a lack of opportunities, but from a lack of motivation. For example, Cambridge University found in a recent study that 62% of men and women who paid for an annual gym membership failed to go entirely after just one month.

A public awareness campaign about the dangers a sedentary lifestyle would affect not only people’s well-being but also their understanding of the issue. This is because most men and women are unaware of the harm they are doing to themselves by not exercising regularly and warning them about the risk factors would have a motivating effect. For instance, the ‘Go walking’ campaign in Northern Ireland in 2006 led to obesity-related illnesses, like heart disease and stroke, falling by almost a quarter.

In conclusion, although an increased availability of sports centres can influence the wellness of the public to a certain extent, it is only through education that the real benefits can be realised.