Some people say that with the considerable benefits computers and internet bring about, they can completely replace the traditional role of a teacher. Do you agree or disagree with it?

In today’s society, with considerable breakthroughs in the field of technology (particularly with the invention of computers and the internet), some people hold the assumption that the role of teachers in a child’s schooling has started to fade. However, I strongly believe that teachers are of paramount importance and so cannot be made redundant.

On the one hand, computers are considered to assist students in progressing more quickly than they would in an original classroom. For example, there are various types of students in the same class, meaning that those with better performance are tied to slow advances in their studies due to others’ incapability to comprehend the lectures. Learning using computers, on the contrary, enables these youngsters to progress at their own pace, allowing for faster and deeper acquisition of knowledge.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the appearance of a standard instructor is indispensable for several reasons. Firstly, motivation and discipline are critical factors for any students’ comprehensive development, which is beyond the scope of computers with a predetermined curriculum. Teachers, however, are those who can tell if their pupils are acting inappropriately and thus help to adjust their behaviors. Furthermore, as computers are emotionless compared to humans, they are unable to praise their students when they accomplish a challenging task or give encouragement to assist them to overcome learning obstacles when necessary. As a result, without the presence of a teacher, children lack the motivation to progress on their study itineraries.

Secondly, the process of education in a classroom should not be disregarded. Students and teachers' two-way communications allow young children to be exposed to actual society rather than virtual space, helping them to become more energetic and confident via group activities. On top of that, critical thinking or problem-solving are examples of abilities that only by being exposed to real-life is a child capable of assimilating, thereby allowing them to develop to their full potential.

By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my state that despite a bunch of technological advancements nowadays, it is evident that teachers will always be of necessity and thus should not be underestimated.