Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and

poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it

must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is obvious that some people suppose that economic development is the only way to put and end to starvation and poverty. Others, however, believe that the economic growth causes environmental problem, hence, it should be discouraged. Personally, I completely side with the second view.

Firstly, a steady economic growth is a potential solution to deal with the poverty and hunger. The employees, especially lower classics who are living in developing countries with various industries have a tendency of getting more job opportunities. Hence, the poor are more likely to enhance individual’s long-term well-being and meet their basic necessities of life. That is a reason why the profits made by corporations who are responsible for this economic growth will trickle down in the form of financial benefits to be enjoyed by the starving and needy.

On the other hand, there are countless evidences to support the opposing view that environmental destruction is the victim of the development in economic activities. The expanding of urban areas for industrialization results in gradual deforestation.

Besides, lowland rain forests have been cleared and unsustainable agricultural practices introduced to produce cash crops, often for exporting. Moreover, chemical wastes and pollutants from industrial factories are the main causes of environmental pollution. This is leading to a rise in sea level and alarming global warming.

In conclusion, sacrificing the nature for the sake of economic development is not a wise step. And the economic growth which is not sustainable must be stopped.