Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the impact of economic development on our lives. While some people argue that it brings detrimental impact on our ecosystem, I give the go-ahead that growth of the economy brings us a great opportunity for jobs.

Detractors of economic evolution can point out several unfavorable effects pertaining mainly to the environment. The continuously increasing air pollution rings a high alarm about the quality of our surroundings. The development of the economy contributes to the rising demand of private vehicles and manufacturers. This means that car engines and thousands of tons of fuels from factories are directly discharged to our ecosystem. In the age of economic growth, we have to cope with the polluted environment more often which greatly causes serious health problems related to lung and heart. Therefore, they suppose that the evolution of the economy decimates the human’s environment.

On the other hand, I support the idea that economic development helps improve our quality of life due to job opportunities. People are more likely to seize their employment prospects. With the expansion of the economy, more and more companies are found, especially multinational corporations are prevalently introduced worldwide. They would enlarge the labour market by taking their places in developing countries which means that people have a chance to make a living by working there. Take Samsung manufacturers located in Bac Ninh province, Vietnam as an example. When bringing their factory to Vietnam, they helped to create nearly 10000 jobs for residents here that makes Bac Ninh become one of the largest GDP revenue in Vietnam.

In conclusion, I have a strong conviction that the development of the economy is far the best way to enhance our life value. However, the government should come up with effective initiatives to balance economic growth and the environment.