Many people believe that economic development is the best measure to deal with the problems of hunger and poverty, whilst others claim that it should not be continuous because of its environmental damages. Although I agree with the second view, in this essay I will discuss both views and support my opinion with evidence and examples.

On the one hand, a growing number of people think that hunger and poverty could be only addressed by economic growth. It is their view that economic development brings increasing opportunities for work for all countries. This is the same meaning with a significant drop in the unemployment rate. As a result, workers would be likely to afford their essential needs with a constant income. Additionally, they claim that when countries concentrate on the development in the economy field, there would be a rise in gross domestic product. Consequently, a small amount of money would be used for reducing hunger in many parts of countries.

On the other hand, there is a common belief that economic growth should be halted because of devastating the environment. This is because they say that more and more factories and companies constructed is the major factor of environmental damage, which is due to the emission of carbon dioxide. Furthermore, there is also an argument that cutting down forest increasingly to make way for factories and economic purpose causes climate change and global environmental problems. Take recent years as a good example. Our planet has witnessed unpredictable climate conditions and many such disasters as drought, earthquake, tsunami and so on, which have killed million people in Japan, Indonesia and other places.

In conclusion, despite the clear benefits of economic growth for reducing hunger and poverty in countries, I believe that there are a variety of negative impacts on the environment which should be balanced before going on the development.