Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and should stop .Discuss bọth views and give your own opinion.

Economic development has been capturing a great deal of public attention in recent decades due to its ramifications on both humans’ living standards and environment. Despite its benefits of addressing poverty and hunger, economic growth could be fraught with more environmental drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is true that a better economy could put an end to poverty and hunger. Frist, the developed economy means higher disbursements on agricultural sector. This would feed into reliable crop-yeilds and increased productivity, saving many lives from the cycle of food shortages. Second, economic growth correlates with the rise in employment opportunities for citizens especially low-class ones stemming from the installments of industrial parks and outsourcing activities. Consequently, this would ensure stable payments, thereby helping individuals escape from chronic poverty.

On the other hand, economy would develop at the expenses of environmental destruction. First, this pattern could come at the costs of the mushrooming of manufacturing factories and delivery vehicles, emitting noxious fumes. It is proved that the higher concentrations of carbon dioxide and CFCs in the atmospphere must be inevitable, making citizens more susceptible to irreversable diseases including tuberculosis or lung cancer. In addition, the economic growth correlates with the overconsumption of resources for energy or trading. This acts as an incentive for the overexploitation of national elements, shaking the environmental equilibrium and decelerating the rehabilitation.

In conclusion, humans could not prioritize economic growth over environmental balance. This would result in the consequence of environmenal deterioration,which directly affects human health adversely in the long term.