Now big cities have many problems. What are these problems? Do you think the government should encourage city residents to move to small cities and towns?

Recent decades have witnessed an increase in problems in metropolitan areas, raising many questions of citizens’ safety. Given that these problems could be pronounced, city residents should be encouraged to live in smaller cities or towns.

It is noticeable that there are many problems related to living in big cities. First, Metropolitan areas are invariably associated with the existence of many industrial parks and transportation. This will act as an incentive for the higher degree of carbon dioxide and methane concentrations in the environment, making city citizens more sensitive to respiratory diseases especially lung cancers and tuberculosis. Second, Due to the inadequacy of the fresh food supply, many megacities has observed a rise the number of vegetables and fruits contaminated with carcinogenic coloring and preservatives, thereby resulting a growth in the cases of foodborne diseases in residents.

However, It is not highly recommended that city dwellers should move to other rural areas or smaller cities. First, small cities mean lower number of big companies and multinational corporations than bigger ones. This will lead to limited job opportunities in citizens especially younger ones, accelerating general unemployment rates. Second, rural areas correlate with the failure in transportation infrastructures such as the lack of super highways and bridges. This will require many physical travels, costing unnecessary time, money and effort for citizens in case of going to another destination.

In conclusion, Although the potential problems associated with metropolitan areas could be ostensible, city dwellers should not live in smaller cities or towns due to some limitations of transportation and competitive employment market.