Online shopping is replacing shopping in stores. Is it a positive or negative development?

Online Shopping has been capturing significant public attention in recent decades, raising many questions of its implications on consumers’ shopping pattern. Although the benefits associated could be pronounced, the downsides could justify these.

On the one hand, there are many positive impacts when it comes to electronic commerce. First, online shopping is one of the most efficient and inexpensive way to purchase items. Before the appearance of such manner, individuals were subject to private vehicles for physical travels to stores and outlets, costing unnecessary time, money and effort. Second, since online-purchasing websites feature international shipping, users especially those in developing nations are given accessibility to foreign goods from developed ones, which are proved to be of higher quality and lower retail prices. For example, Vietnamese individuals have a penchant for ordering high-end garments from international clothing websites such as Asos, Channel and Mango rather than purchasing at the retail outlets because the ordered prices with the shipping fees are overall relatively lower in comparison, reducing significant monetary expenditure.

On the other hand, such shopping pattern could be fraught with many pitfalls. From the environmental perspective, in order to keep pace with the growing fast-delivery demand, significant automobile dependency with the co-ordination of air cargo, container shipping and land logistics would be the condition precedent, This could culminate in the explosion in exhausted fumes in the environment, followed by increased carbon concentrations, making environmental deterioration an inevitable product. From the consumers’ perspective, without physical interaction with the desired products, consumers could not have the gauge n the actual quality and be deceived into purchasing stemming from false portrayals and fraudulent misrepresentations, thereby winding up buying second-rate products with prohibitively expensive costs.

In conclusion, the development of online shopping could be both advantageous and disadvantageous. However, by taking fuel efficient shipping alternatives and buyers’ higher degree of caution, online purchasing could be the most optimal option for effective shopping in the long terms.