It is believed that people who read a lot of novels have developed better imagination and language skills than people who prefer to watch TV.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that novel readers’ creativity and linguistic competence are far more stimultated than television viewers’. From the personal perspective, I totally agree with the opinion for the two following reasons.

The first reason is that people reading novels are proved to have more innovative and original thinking than those watching television. This is because novels, be they fiction or non-fiction, introduce readers to a diversity of topics, concepts, experiences and behaviors that they have never encountered in their own lives before. In contrast, since television programs are entertainment-oriented and centered on uneducational and marketable topics such as celebrity gossips, singing competitions or, viewers in no way can be opened up to new ideas as much as novel readers.

In addition, individuals enjoying novels frequently are more lingustically developed than those watching television in vocalurary usage terms. Specifically, novels allow people to be exposed to a wide range of vocabularies and language expressions employed by expert authors and linguistists, thereby widening readers’ vocabulary range in the long term. However, by only watching television, people may have limited and even improper vocabularies since television producers and screenwriters only use words intelligible to the general public. Furthermore, for the purposes of attracting more ratings, television programs feature profanities and slangs from time to time, which are not consistent with the standard language and even public decency.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that novel readers are more stimulated creatively and lingustically than people desiring to watch TV. The arguments are that the former could have fresher thoughts and wider vocabulary range than the latter. Given the situation, it seems that people regardless of age should spend more time reading novels more regularly and less time watching useless television programs.