The number of people working online from home has grown in some countries. What advantages and disadvantages can come of this trend

Telecommuting has been gaining in popularity in recent decades due to its substantial impacts on people’s work. Although the advantages associated with this pattern can be pronounced, there still exists many limitations.

On the one hand, there are a number of benefits of working from home. First, Since telecommuting requires no physical travels costing unnecessary time money and effort, people can save an enormous amount of money spent on transportation services. Subsequently, In addition to money savings, this working mode also acts as a deterrent for the emission of exhausted fumes into the atmosphere. Second, Working from home is invariably a comfortable working environment without the existence of office politics from other colleagues. This will boost the working productivity and efficiency of tele-workers, resulting in desirable working output.

On the other hand, tele-work is not without downsides. First, working from home can remarkably reduce interaction and experience exchange among co-workers in the company. This will lead to the loss of some fundamental skills to climb the promotion ladder, especially team working and leadership. In addition, telecommuting usually requires many electronic devices with good Internet connection to guarantee the working stability. It is implied that those in poverty stricken areas in some developing countries cannot relish this advanced working mode on the grounds that these high-tech gadgets are unaffordable.

In conclusion, given the clear advantages working from home has, there are still a vast number of limitations. However, by acknowledging these downsides, the employers and workers can find ways to dodge them.