Some people think that international travel makes them prejudiced rather than broad-minded.

Give reasons why people fail to benefit from travel and how to improve the understanding of

countries you visit.

Recent years have witnessed an increase in international tourism, raising many questions of prejudices against the countries visited. Given that failing from profiting from international travel could be attributed to many reasons, there are many measures to promote the understanding of countries visited.

There are many reasons why international travel leads to the bias in the countries visited. First, The increase in social unrests and the deterioration of political soundness in the countries visited could put the life of foreign visitors in jeopardy. In fact, many Western visitors venturing to many war-torn countries in Africa such as Egypt and Morrocco were killed and abducted by extreme religious groups, thereby having prejudices that Africa means terrorism and bigotry. Second, Visiting other countries is invariably associated with the possibilities of experiencing the local cultures and indigenous customs, thereby having biased perceptions of the locals. For example, many outbound tourists visiting India having a deeper understanding of the conventions of gender preferences and therefore in the belief that India people always undermine women’s rights and gender equality.

However, the official authorities and tourists themselves should undertake some initiatives to enhance the knowledge of the countries they visit. First, governments should advertise positive imagines and footages about many beauty spots and traditional cultures on social networks and foreign trip advisor websites. For instance, By applying screen tourism showing videos of many idyllic forests and mountains and positive social norms of native dwellers, Iceland has had a good reputation in the international travel industry as a country with beautiful landscapes and friendly citizens. In addition, Tourists should refer to some travel bloggers or even governments’ travel guide websites for information enhancement, thereby knowing some dangerous destinations or some strict laws of the countries they visit in advance.

In conclusion, that international travel act as a deterrent for visitors from benefiting could stem from the social insecurity and old traditional cultures of the host countries. The public officials and tourists themselves should take some measures such as advertisement and information reference to guarantee the advantages of international tourism.