Some people opine that economic growth is the only solution to tackle with the issues of hunger and poverty, whilst others believe that economic growth should be halted because of its devastating consequences in environment problems. This essay will discuss both views in detail and provide evidences why I agree with the second opinion.

On the one hand, it is argued that economic growth is the sole cure for saving the poor and needy from the hunger and poverty, because financial wealth makes them afford to basic necessities in life. In other words, the corporations which will get benefits from the economic progress will trickle down in forms of financial benefits to be enjoyed the poor people. I disagree with this ideas because this logic justified the imperialism and turned to be not true. For example, most Indians had been suffered from the hunger during the dominance of England and the poverty is still pressing issue in there.

On the other hand, it is obvious that excessive focus on economic growth brings adverse ramifications to the whole world. In terms of under-developed countries, their lowland forests have been cleared and unsustainable agricultural practices have been introduced to produce cash crops, often for export. In my opinion, developed countries are also accelerating global warming in the name of progress with the constant and exorbitant use of fossil fuels which has been the main source of industrialization. As a result, rising sea level is threatening millions of lives in Bangladesh.

In conclusion, while some insist that the economic growth in poor countries is the only way to escape those who are in hunger from the poverty, unsustainable growth will devastate the environment and endanger people around the world with the environmental issues. Some people opine that economic growth is the only solution to tackle with the issues of hunger and poverty, whilst others believe that economic growth should be halted because of its devastating consequences in environment problems. This essay will discuss both views in detail and provide evidences why I agree with the second opinion.