Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and should stop. Discuss bọth views and give your own opinion.

Opinions differ as to whether the development of the international economy could solve the problem of poverty around the world or it should be stopped for causing severe environmental damage. In my view, I side with the first perspective.

To begin with, there are reasons why people say that economic growth is the key to improving the current state of poverty. The first reason is that the growth of the international economy would help generate more revenues which could then be used to support the poor and the homeless. Take Korea for example, since the non-restriction of global trade from the government in 2010 resulting in a substantial national income, the country has continuously contributed 10 percent of its enormous money resource to assist the in-need citizens each year. As of now, Korea’s hunger and poverty issue is no longer a matter to the government. Another reason is that such a development of the economy would create more jobs for the people. As more and more jobs are made available, the poor population would be able to start making a living themselves and thus, end the problem of poverty.

Unfortunately, every type of development would cost something in return. In this case, it is the environment to be harmed during the process of growing the economy. Due to the expansion of industrialization, more lands would be required for companies to build their factories leading to massive deforestation. In the long run, it could be detrimental to the air as a large area covered by trees and plants, which are the main air-filtering system, gets destroyed. Hence, slowing the pace of economic growth would be a balanced solution to preserve the air environment while retaining the task of controlling poverty and hunger.

In conclusion, while economic growth might indeed harm the environment and should be proceeded slowly and precautiously, I believe it is definitely an effective method to eliminate the problem of world poverty and hunger.