Around the world, children learn English as a second language at school. However, in some places, they also learn at kindergarten (pre-school care, when children are aged two to five). Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of learning English at kindergarden.

In some countries, children start to learn English as a second language in early childhood education. This essay will discuss some pros and cons of this tendency.

To begin with, there are several merits when letting children study English at. The first advantage is that the young will familiarize themselves with this language sooner than other kids who begin to learn at formal education. They will then be able to get ahead of their peers in terms of English proficiency in the higher levels of education. In Vietnam, for example, many schoolchildren who are exposed to English at kindergarden show better performance of language studying than those who have never approached English earlier. Another perk of such a tendency is that parents could save a large amount of money for English centers when their offsprings grow up. Although tuition fees for kids education is fairly high at the beginning, parents may not need to pay for an English tutor as their children gain the self-studying ability from early language education already.

Unfortunately, a setback of this trend should also be addressed. Though having children learn English at preschools may allow them to advance faster in higher grades, infants might find it difficult to understand language lessons as their cognitive development is not fully developed at these ages. This will not give them a boost in academic performance of language in primary or secondary schools as stated earlier. A report in 2013 indicated that some Vietnam schoolchildren with early exposure to English still do not perform better than other peers because they do not understand the lessons from early education.

In conclusion, there are some advantages and a disadvantage that need to be considered when parents decide whether they should let their children learn English at preschool.