Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Since the advent of the internet, face-to-face business events have become less appealing in the modern life. In fact, many meetings, discussions and training are being organized online these days. While this tendency brings some benefits, there are more disadvantages to consider.

To begin with, organizing these events on the internet is beneficial in several ways. Since it only requires a computer and internet connection, people can easily arrange their meetings within a few clicks, which is supper convenient and also saves a large amount of time and budget. Indeed, many businessmen have been utilizing the internet for private meetings and small conferences rather than spending budget on venue renting. Moreover, while people are communicating online, they can still be able to do other personal tasks compared to traditional meetings where they only have discussions to focus on.

However, this tendency might have some undesirable demerits. Firstly, if entrepreneurs overuse the internet to converse with the others, they will likely become lazier to meet in person, which might affect people’s social experience. Because they do not want to meet face to face, individuals may miss opportunities to expand their connections to the next potential business clients referred by the existing ones. Secondly, unlike real life atmosphere where businessmen can cultivate more interests from the others, meeting on the internet creates a neutral environment where people only want to hang up as quickly as possible. Thus, group work between partners could not be as effectively co-operative as conventional meetings.

In conclusion, while online business meetings offer some merits, the disadvantages of this way somewhat outweigh the advantages.