The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some people say that governments should allocate their fundings to public services rather than wasting national budget on arts, music and theater. In my opinion, I wholeheartedly agree with this statement.

To begin with, financial support for the facilities of art is completely insane. In today’s world, the majority of people are no longer attracted to paintings and music and thus, keeping these creations and activities alive will not turn a profit. In Vietnam, for example, many museums and galleries are being left in the dust because the locals and even foreign tourists do not have any interests wasting a large amount of national budget every year. As can be seen, arts are not worth for governments to invest in because of the high probability of losing a substantial amount of money.

Meanwhile, there are some practical public services that extremely require attention from governments. Health care is the first important aspect that needs more governmental fundings. The financial support on this field will help to improve general life expectancy of humans, which is clearly more helpful than arts. If a country failed to improve the health care system and let its citizens suffer from illness, it would then have to spend even more money to reverse the situation. Similarly, education definitely needs governmental assistance because it decides a nation’s future. A strong formal education will produce more skilled workers for better countries’ development.

In conclusion, I assert that turning governmental support to public services is more contributive to the country’s economy than funding arts.