Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and should stop. To what extent do you agree?

In today’s world, most countries show a great concern related to the issues of the economy. It is thought that economic growth is the only way to eliminate world poverty. Nevertheless, others share the view that the development of the economy will result in environmental damage. Therefore, it should be stopped in the future. From my perspective, I remain unconvinced by this claim.

To begin with, the most frequent factor to argue this view is that economic growth helps to resolve most serious social problems such as poverty, unemployment, healthcare, social conflict and so forth. One example to demonstrate this view is that in South Africa, Australia and Canada, a 1 per cent increase in GDP is matched by an increase in employment of 0.6 per cent or higher. As this example suggests, it is undisputed that economic growth can deal with a large number of issues regarding human beings. As a result, it cannot be stopped in the future.

In addition, one explanation against this point of view might be that the growth of the economy is not necessarily destroying the environment. This is shown by the following example. Statistics in economic development indicates that in 2018, Singapore's GDP per capita is ranked 3rd in the world. Meanwhile, this country is also considered as the cleanest city in the world by a multitude of experts these days. Take this country as an example, it cannot be denied that the development of the economy is not always attributed to the destruction of the environment. Besides, there are myriad ways to both boost the economic growth and protect the environment as Singapore did.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that economic growth should not be halted due to its benefits to solve several social problems. Moreover, it is feasible to find a way to increase the development of the economy and improve the environment at the same time.