Social people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and should stop. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Economic development has been a major priority in many parts of the world, being an effective means of addressing starvation and poverty. While it is mentioned by some that economic growth proves to be the only solution, others argue that this would have detrimental effects on the environment and should not be continued. This essay will discuss both aspects of this argument and outline my opinion on the same.

On the one hand, solid economic progress is indispensable to tackling hunger and poverty. To begin with, economic growth shows a current country's wealth. In other words, the proliferation of economic success will mitigate the unemployment rate, thus boosting people's standards of living and also creating more employment opportunities. For instance, most developing countries, such as Vietnam and India, are suffering from hunger and poverty, and the only way to diminish this problem is that the authorities should take necessary action to promote commercial growth. Furthermore, a highly developed economy means sustained investment in the agricultural sector. This might be explained by the fact that thriving conglomerates would join hands with the government to support the modernization and innovation of farming methods and techniques. This would result in enhanced productivity in farming practices, and food security would be assured. Hence, the total national output will increase significantly.

On the other hand, the rapid development of economic progress in each nation could have detrimental impacts on the environment. First and foremost, industrialization, coupled with economic growth, has resulted in ever-increasing environmental pollution. To illustrate, according to Nature, which is one of the most famous magazines in the world, contaminated air coming from industrial zones increases greenhouse gas emissions. As a result, this leads to global warming and causes many tragedies, such as climate change, hurricanes, or respiratory diseases. Additionally, several actions, like deforestation to cultivate crops, will destroy natural habitats and the ecological imbalance of the planet.

In summary, the tremendous commercial improvement can be a measure to end the hunger and poverty of every country. Although the expansion could cause side effects like pollution and global warming, I think that if businesses and the authorities show concern about environmental consequences, they would be willing to invest in environmentally friendly technology and make optimal use of resources in order to minimize these effects. I also predict that environmental-related drawbacks can possibly be overcome in the near future.