Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and must be stopped. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Social members have sparked off a heated controversy over the impacts of economic growth on the society. While many residents justify that only by such prosperity will impoverishment and food shortage be addressed, I opine that it must be terminated due to its ecological destruction.

On the one hand, the chief cause making citizens in favor of economic gain is its essence in tackling welfare concerns. To begin with, a growing profit is believed to motivate enterprises to grow their business and, hence, lead to a rising demand on employees. Therefore, more jobs are created, and this can contribute to a more stable income for the grass roots, which enables them to sustainably lacerate the poverty line. In addition, it is also economic upswing that facilitates the authority accomplish its poverty alleviating and nutritional objectives. Indeed, the higher revenue firms earn, they more money they will trickle down as tax, by which the government can provide funding for such projects as infrastructure upgrade, unemployment benefits, or sufficient food for the disadvantaged.

On the other hand, personally, I have adopted a negative attitude towards economic growth because the world has spent centuries establishing prosperity at the expense of our pristine environment. Specifically, to maintain production, nations inevitably consume natural components like fossil fuels, soil or water; consequently, not only does it exert burdens on finite resources, but also irreversibly contaminate the ecological system. For example, after doubling its GDP compared to 30 years ago, Vietnam suffers from an enormous diminish in air quality, with a rise of 120% in particulate matters and greenhouse gases. Thus, economic growth must be halted to prevent firms from exploiting the nature so massively that the planet would be no longer habitable. Otherwise, if there is no adjustment in how we boost the economy, destruction will be perpetuated, and crises like global warming or ozone layer depletion will be exacerbated, which cannot be compensated by any financial abundance.

Briefly, although the link between economic expansion and mitigation of poverty and malnourishment is indisputable, I believe that ending it for the sake of our environment is a more favorable approach.