Some people think that the government should ban dangerous sports, but others think that people should have the freedom to do whatever sport activities they choose, Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Extreme sports have raised a question of whether they should be prohibited or not. While a number of people support banning such disciplines, it seems to me that entitling citizens to opt for their desired physical activities offers more advantages.

On the one hand, outlawing extreme sports is considered as a reasonable legal action thanks to positive impacts it exerts on the society. Indeed, there have been many cases in which participants in such sports became out of condition, since they inherently have a high probability of injuries. For example, researchers have shown that in comparison to casual disciplines like football or tennis, such dangerous ones as bungee jumping or kayaking observed a significantly higher rate of fatal accidents or life-threatening conditions. Therefore, as an organ responsible for public health, it is favorable for the authority to adopt policies prohibiting these sports, which may act as a deterrent for residents against putting their lives in jeopardy. By contrast, if the aforementioned regulations are neglected, that will be detrimental as severe injuries are more likely to happen, which leave individuals medically and financially exhausted.

On the other hand, I believe that extreme sports should not be restricted for several reasons. To begin with, taking up these disciplines, players have already taken sensible precautions like equipping themselves with essential sport gears. Hence, when people are fully aware of their safety, any prohibition on safety grounds may be less effective, or even redundant. In addition, there has been a consensus that the government should tighten its control over a certain activity only if its drive is against moral value. Thus, if the authority imposes an official ban on extreme sports, the purpose of which is just keeping fit, this can threaten and diminish public confidence on legislative branch because residents may deem it as a privacy infringement rather than a protection.

Briefly, I concur with the view that people should be free to participate in dangerous sports, provided that they abide by the safety rules.