In many cultures, children have been educated about the importance of efforts, in which it sufficiency can guarantee an entire achievement. While this view can be beneficial, I opine that it offers more drawbacks.

On the one hand, residents justify that emphasizing the essence of endeavor can help their offspring instill positive traits. Indeed, children are inherently susceptible with a didactic approach, so when it comes to their knowledge that striving is fruitful, they are more likely to set determination as a norm. As a result, youngsters are believed to be more consistent, which has been proved to lay the foundation for success. For example, after a short-term training in military, where the slogan “never give up” was highlighted, 100 Vietnamese children reported that they not only were able complete demanding physical activities, but also become self-motivated to enhance their academic performance. In other words, regardless of if it is identical to actual life, the consensus that effort assures every achievement positively influences on shaping a child’s values and personalities, prompting them to maintain their enthusiasm in any task. By contrast, the less motivation citizens channel into missions, the less likely they are to succeed.

On the other hand, in my opinion, exaggerating the value of effort can be detrimental to a comprehensive development of children. From a mental perspective, if achievement is attributed to nothing but endeavor, failures even when they try their best can be seen as a sign of competence austerity to children. Consequently, they tend to have an inferiority complex, which results in a lack of self-confidence, or even mental health problems. In addition, from a moral perspective, “trying” is sometimes misperceived and taken into extreme by youngsters, obliging them to realize their ambitions at any cost. Therefore, moral character erosion has been witnessed, in which juvenile delinquents disobeyed the law, violated codes of conduct in hopes of achievement.

Briefly, while not disavowing the advantages, it seems to me that telling next generations to try hard for every success is problematic due to its shortcomings.