In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Positive nurturing in child education is pervasive in the globe, where children are learned to succeed inc every aspect of life if they strive hard. While some believe it teaches children optimism to stay strong when hardship comes, some disagree as it gives children unrealistic perception on life. This essay discusses both pros and cons of this teaching method.

Thinking positively allows one to build up self-esteem and develop virtuous qualities such as persistence and determination more easily. It is often supported by psychology research on the impact of self-confidence has on academic performance; children who have firm beliefs in their abilities are more willing to engage in competition and more likely to attain goals. It is no mere coincidence that successful people in society often have high self-esteem.

On the contrary, despite the strongly-held belief of encouragement as the most crucial element in children's development, it is the very opposite of failure which gives them the best lesson in life. Comparing to the past when children freely experienced in different trial-and-error scenarios, the overly positive and protectiveness of parents in modern days in fact contribute to the fragility of children's mentality by giving them false perception on life. If one has only trust in himself and turns blind to other external factors which hint possible failure, he is prone to greater level of depression and disappointment when his attempt ends up unsuccessful.

The practice of giving children a positive outlook of an equivalent relation between hard work and achievement is a double-sided sword which might lead to negative outcomes if misused. Therefore, one should take both sides into consideration, so as to nurture a mentally-capable child ready to face any challenges in the future.