Some people say that cars are best to use in cities while others think that bicycles are better. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The development of technology since the industrial revolution provides us with an assortment of transport which enables easier commuting. While some cities such as Copenhagen and Tokyo encourages people to use bicycles due to environmental concerns, most cities widely use cars as the major tool in their daily lives. There is not any universial solution to transportation as each city varies in terms of size, population, city planning, etc.

A bicycle is known for its versatility and adaptability -- it can be used by different age groups and in different landscapes. With its purely mechanical structure, it does not require any fuels or electricity and thus, not generate any pollutants or waste that is harmful to the environments. Moreover, given its small size and slim body, it allows users to pass through narrow streets or pedestrian road to avoid traffic congestion. However, the speed of a bicycle is significantly lower than other types of transportation, and it imposes greater danger to users when traffic accidents occur, as large body surface area is exposed to the air.

On the other hand, the overall performance of a car is considered higher. A car excels in speed that greatly reduces the time spent on public transport. Furthermore, it has an unique feature of privacy which many people value. Yet, the overuse of private cars nowadays is one of the main causes of global warming and air pollution. Nonetheless, during peak hours, traffic congestion occur frequently and ironically, consuming more time than using bicycle or other public transport. cities with a large population such as Beijing is subjected to heavy traffic jam every day for more than four hours.

both bicycle and car have its goods and bads that should be taken into account. For an all-rounded result, it is advisable for cities to adopt both in order to maximize efficiency, at the same time, minimize its impacts on the environment.