In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

The sentiment of having a home to return to is ubiquitous to all people. However, for those whose desire is more than just living under a shelter, they prefer buying their own houses than renting one. This practice is particularly common in family-oriented cultures, which owning a home provide a sense of security. Yet regretful to say, in another way, it puts a restraint on life that I personally defy.

Being able to acquire a property not only represents one's financial capability, but also symbolizes his independence from his primary family. Nonetheless, understandably, people might find giving a part of their hard-earned money to someone else for a temporary place to stay in dreadful. Considering Asian countries like China, its traditional customs rule that a person can never build his own family without owning a property, as it represents one cannot stand on his own feet. If one does not have a home which he owns and returns to, he is not qualified as an independent, successful adult, needless to mention, a suitable partner for moving on to the next stage of life.

Despite the unnerving urge of purchasing a home, for people living in metropolitan cities where housing is scarce and property price skyrockets endlessly, this is nothing more than strangling one's neck with loans. Born and raised in Hong Kong, I am fully aware of how this seemingly unachievable goal distorts people's perceptions on leading a fruitful life. Many put their value on a contract and decide to sacrifice leisure for a house that merely demonstrates their compliance to social norms. They supposedly adventurous journey of life is degraded to a mundane task of holding onto a brick that produces only wealth, if not a never-ending chasing of recognition from anyone but oneself.

The need to own a personal safe heaven is inherited in our genes as inter-independent beings. Still, one should constantly ask himself the purpose of being and pursue his own aim to a life that is worth living.