Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Living in an era full of options and opportunities, however fortunate we might be, some believe it might lead to negative consequences. This essay accords with this view as I believe we tend to make unnecessary purchases and produce excess waste.

Overconsumption is one of the salient causes of land pollution in modern days; with the advancement of industrial technology, much more clothing is produced and hence companies introduce new items each day with the help of bombarding advertisements. Under the heavy influence of fast fashion, people frequent to boutiques such as Zara, H&M, and Uniqlo, for their low-priced, low-quality items that cannot last for long. The purpose of clothing no longer remains as a basic necessity for protection, but merely a short-time amusement. As a result, millions of clothes are dumped into the landfills and buried there for years without being dissolved.

Another problem with the flood of choices is food waste. While food from all around the world is supplied in supermarkets and department stores at a reasonable price, people often purchase more food than they actually need.

Instead of the staple in daily life, feasts are held frequently, and foods that are not considered enjoyable would be thrown into the bin. Take China as an example, it is an ordinary scene to have half of the gourmet left untouched at every wedding ceremony, which produces more than 100,000kg of waste alone. Ultimately, with more food goes into the gutter, not only is it detrimental to the environment but also immoral as millions of our counterparts living in famine.

To conclude, being provided with too many choices might instead have disastrous effects since people overconsume clothing and exhaust food resources. One should make his/her decision wisely and avoid such mistakes.