Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Moving to a foreign land, we might find ourselves being alienated from others as we cannot comprehend all the strange syllables and vowels. Some might see it as a threat to our social and daily life. Nonetheless, I strongly uphold the view that human interactions should not be restricted by the language itself when there is non-verbal language and people are generally accepting.

The power of unspoken languages, or body languages, lies in its fundamental setting of being acquired by all human beings as their inborn traits. Our ancient ancestors sent signals to each other by waving their arms and legs as we sometimes see in comedies. Furthermore, we also discovered the significance of facial expressions -- brows frowned and teeth grinned, we know who not to irritate in avoidance of another argument. While we might not be able to convey our feelings and thoughts with words, our counterparts may still understand us by getting to the most primitive side of human beings.

Yet, undeniably, not knowing a language creates troubles since the minds of two are not well connected. Still, we shall not underestimate the level of acceptance of people; most give patience and kindness toward others when they see the efforts we put into being a part of the microcosm. For example, staying at host families gives one the most valuable experience adjusting to the new environment and acquiring the new language. Moreover, in an era when advanced translation gadgets come in handy, the perceived language barrier is considerably lowered.

In conclusion, albeit language is a potential obstacle, it is not essentially a conundrum which we should mind gravely. As long as one is open-hearted and amicable, more importantly, like a child coming to the new world, our thoughts will always be heard and understood.