Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Advertisement comes in different forms and lies in every aspect of our life. Whilst some believe we are greatly influenced by it and make more purchase, some consider its prevalence not something to worry about. This essay agrees on the first statement and discusses both views to demonstrate the immense success of advertisement in affecting our behaviors.

One crucial factor in evaluating the effectiveness of advertisement is level of consumerism. Comparing to the days before Industrial Revolution -- when people practiced barter trade -- we consumed the most commodities in human history. Not only do we purchase necessities for daily uses, but also spend much more on non-staple goods such as luxury. A good example of an effective advertisement is the infamous campaign "A diamond is a girl's best friend", of which symbolizes marriage and causes the nightmare of many for paying an enormous sum for a shiny stone composed of Carbon.

Albeit people do not intentionally acknowledge advertisement, their subconscious has long been captured by it. The essence of advertising is subtly instilling a concept or idea in one's mind without noticing. Bombarding with countless promotion materials that captivate all our five senses, our brain automatically create memory and perception which influence our decision. For instance, an appealing woman showing her curve on a poster with hinting words such as "true beauty" and "perfect woman" might induce one in considering herself far from "perfect" and hence, purchase the related product or service to suit the social standard.

Living in an era when people have the shortest attention span due to the convenience of technology, we are constantly under the threat of brainwash attempts by companies. Despite of we are accustomed to its existence, it is always judicious for one to think critically and make every purchase wisely without the severe influence of advertising.