In today’s world, private companies rather than government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Currently it is private enterprises that replace the authority in shouldering the major responsibility for funding and discovering scientific advancements. While its benefits are discernible, it seems to me that this tendency brings about more detriments.

On the one hand, the merits of research driven by private firms can be clearly seen from a financial perspective. In fact, scientific discovery involves a massive investment despite it will yield a fruitful result or not, so when the government’s finite resources are allocated to this field, the policy may be unacceptable due to the uncertainty of an adequate outcome. For example, British authority was criticized for its investment in cancer therapy development, which was deemed as a squandering after clinical trials failed. Therefore, not only can private participation assure resources for science projects but also reduce burden on national budget. By contrast, if the state remained obliged to provide public spending for such missions, this may use up funding that can support other urgent issues, and result in instability for scientific research as government decision-making can be easily overturned when social outcry levels up.

On the other hand, I opine that privately run scientific research leads to a number of drawbacks. To begin with, obviously, since companies in a certain industry only pour money into relevant science activities, a scientific environment mostly relying on private sector may neglect several fields that are commercially insignificant. Consequently, a number of social components may degrade or be put to the verge of oblivion due to its lack of further study. Additionally, enterprises inherently conduct scientific research just to promote their business, so their involvement raises question marks over such discoveries’ accuracy and transparency. Indeed, when a study is sponsored by a company, this casts doubts over whether researchers abide by ethical codes, or results are manipulated to serve the firms’ interests.

Briefly, although research managed by private companies contributes to remarkable social betterment, I believe that its benefits are outweighed by the disadvantages.