in today's world private companies rather than the government [ay for and conduct most scientific research. do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays, many private companies are carrying out scientific research more than the government sector. It has some benefits like the government can divert money to some other divisions while the drawbacks of research ownership of private companies would be detrimental. Therefore the downside would outweigh the advantage.

On the one hand, there are many beneficial elements when the private companies put payment and conduct scientific research. Firstly, such companies would be able to spend large sums of money irrespective of governmental rules. governments can provide such an amount for other sectors like education, health, transport facilities and so on. Secondly, private companies could able to recruit scientists from any other nationalities, enhance their studies and collaborate with each other prudently. Whereas, every government have some limitations and target to customise people and utilise the products to some extent. For instance, the changing governance bodies and parties.

On the other hand, scientific research and the outcome would be devastating effects on nations to the long run. In other words, the company that owns the patent to do any research would be their own rights and reservation. They would manage the cost and prize for the outcome and that may lead to the economic dissimilarities in the country. Scientists from overseas would have their own rules and explore the innovative ideas and output in other countries which might lead to controversies to some extent. Moreover, the credibility and genuineness of the scientific research also would make some consequences inside the host country.

to sum up, it is destructive when private companies own the market of scientific research rather than the government and the disadvantage outweigh the merits to the core.