Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of jobs required?

It is true that social members are purchasing their accoutrements through the Internet more frequently. In my opinion, this tendency

significantly influences the environment as well as labor market because of the following reasons.

Regarding the environment, a double-edged impact can be easily witnessed when online shopping becomes prevalent. On the one hand, transaction through the internet obviously does not involve commuting, so it is believed to discourage the use of private vehicles. Therefore, this declined transportation acts as a catalyst in reducing carbon footprint, which can halt air pollution and alleviate global warming. On the other hand, however, in comparison to traditional stores, online retailers inevitably have to increase the amount of disposable package to maintain products’ integrity during delivery. Consequently, not only does this lead to an excessive load of non-biodegradable waste, which poses challenge to waste management, but also over consumes finite resources like plants or fossil fuel.

Regarding the employment, the uplifted popularity of online business is accompanied by a high demand in a number of occupations. To begin with, the trend has been observed to promote telemarketing. Indeed, since purchases are accomplished through broadband connection, real interactions between consumers and suppliers are becoming scarce; hence, modes of communication which do not involves face-to-face contact stand out as the most potential strategy to create brand awareness among prospective customers. In addition, it is understandable that the more occasionally citizens experience online shopping, they more likely they are to be victims of online scams or computer hackers. Thus, if firms launch their products on the Internet, employees with computer literacy, who can assure cyber security and maintain the system’s proper operation, will be extremely vital.

Briefly, no sooner does shopping on the Internet rocket than its effects on the ecological systems and required occupations become discernible.