It is suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Hands-on experience related to vegetables cultivation and raising animal has been recommended to be integrated into training program of primary schools. While its drawbacks are foreseen, I opine that this proposal offers more benefits.

On the one hand, a number obstacles can be predicted when children have to embark on agriculture work. From medical perspective, it is believed that this activity will contribute to a higher health risk for students. In fact, flora and fauna contains an excessive load of detrimental microorganisms, so if schoolchildren, who have a vulnerable immune system and lack conscience of hygiene, receive a prolonged exposure to them, they may be more prone to dangerous infectious diseases. In addition, from training perspective, there has been a consensus that primary school is the institution responsible for developing children’s the three Rs, namely reading, writing and arithmetic. As a result, educating children about agricultural skills can be seen as a squander of time and resources, for it is not in line with the aforementioned mission.

On the other hand, I argue that horticulture and animal husbandry should be adopted at primary school because of their remarkable advantages. To begin with, these disciplines provide learners with opportunities to know academic subjects inside out. In fact, by discovering how to take care of plants or animals properly, not only do schoolchildren entirely grasp science principles taught in casual classes, but also be able to put knowledge gained into practice. In addition, no sooner do students interact with other species than they get close to nature and develop their interests in ecosystem. Therefore, this activity is of great significance in nurturing youngsters who have a heightened awareness of living in a harmony with flora and fauna, as well as firing passion for prospective biologists.

Briefly, although teaching children about planting trees or keeping animal may be detrimental, I believe that its minuses are still overshadowed by the considerable pluses.