Some people think that it's good for a country's culture if people watch some imported film or TV programs while some people argue that it could be better if people watch films of their own culture.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been a difference of opinion regarding the merits of foreign movies and TV channels as some people believe that the preference for domestic products would be an incentive for a nation’s cultural development. Although imported entertaining programs can be beneficial, I opine that domestic films and TV shows offer more advantages.

On the one hand, a diversity of foreign films and TV telecasts can contribute to the cultural enhancement of a nation. To begin with, the programs have been recognised to play an important role in promoting local performing arts. Indeed, in telecasts produced by developed entertaining industries, it is the accomplished artists and the dazzling display of their talents that become role models for domestic professions, thanks to which they can upgrade their competencies. Moreover, an exposure to foreign programs, which reflect oversea cultural identity, can result in an adaptation to positive customs and beliefs. In Vietnam, for example, since the arrival of TV shows from more developed nations, which triggers a new and civilised way of thinking, such depraved practices at traditional festivals as killing animals or gambling have been gradually aborted.

On the other hand, I believe that supporting local movies and TV shows leads to more substantial benefits. Regarding to education, obviously, profound insights of traditional values can be vividly conveyed in cinemas and on the media if the content and messages are largely initiated by local playwrights. Therefore, domestic programs offer an alternative to monotonous casual classes, through which institutions can address concerns about an attractive transmission of history knowledge. Regarding to culture, besides advantageous contents, exotic practices also inevitably contain inappropriate details due to custom difference, so an unselective assimilation might lead to the oblivion of long-standing ethics. Hence, this increasingly highlights the importance of an approach solely involving domestic products, which can tackle worries about any detriment to native traditions and beliefs.

Briefly, while not disavowing the significance of international movies and TV shows, it seems to me that they cannot surpass that of local-made programs.