Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these

days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business.

Why do you think that is?

What could be done to encourage more people to take interest in the arts?

It is true that while the interest in art has diminished, that in science, technology and business has witnessed an opposite trend. Two major reasons stands out as responsible for this tendency, which can be resolved by a number of strategies.

To begin with, the decline in concentration on art can be attributed to two contributing factors. Firstly, from education perspective, it is the dogmatic transmission of knowledge that deprives art of the ability to arouse learners’ attention. Indeed, in many countries, most art classes put an emphasis on training connoisseurs of sculpture, painting or photography, which mainly deliver theoretical facts about art movements rather than certain techniques. Since that abstract knowledge is quite out of their depths, it is believed to restraint the thirst for discovering the discipline among students. Secondly, from economic perspective, statistics have indicated that merely pursuing their art career cannot assure artists a decent life. In other words, in comparison to science or business, art is less stable, and it is understandable when people are increasingly prioritize the former, which possesses a more promising job prospect.

However, several solutions can be proposed to remedy the aforementioned problem. Regarding to education systems, it is favourable for schools to facilitate a curricula reform, in which equipping students with hands-on experience and art skills is highly recommended. In fact, this may enable students to create their own artworks, and that involvement has been scientifically proved to awaken their interests in the subject. Regarding to management, the government should adopt a policy establishing a mixed funding for the arts, which grants financial support for talented painters, sculptors or photographers. Specifically, if it comes to residents’ knowledge that pursuing fine art can yield a decent life, the gifted are more likely to embark on that profession rather than switch other field.

Briefly, only by efforts of schools and the authority will a lack focus on the art be entirely solved.