Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this? What solutions can be offered?

It is true that the incidence of overweight children has been exacerbated over the past few decades. Two major reasons stand out as responsible for this challenge, which can be remedied by several feasible solutions.

To begin with, corpulence among youngsters can be attributed to a number of contributing factors. Firstly, it is their sedentary lifestyle that made them prone to obesity. Indeed, statistics have dedicated that the proportion of schoolchildren taking moderate to vigorous exercise frequently has declined by 30% compared to the figure in the 20th century, which leads to a significant energy accumulation as fat in their bodies and, consequently, causes obesity. Secondly, due to their hectic schedule and the ubiquity of fast food chains, children have adopted an unhealthy eating habit, in which their regular meals contain a great deal of saturate fat and sugar. Therefore, they are more likely to become obese, as proved by previous research.

However, many resolutions can be proposed to tackle the aforementioned problem. Regarding to training programs, it is favorable for schools to adopt a policy mandating learners to take up sports. Indeed, such measure is expected to incorporate regular physical activities into children’s schedule, and prevent them from obesity by fulfilling the requirement of calories consumption. Regarding to families, during their formative years, children are still dependent on parents, so fathers and mothers also have to shoulder the responsibility in the diet of their offspring. Specifically, if adults can access health awareness campaigns educating people about nutrition, they will be able to fix their children’s detrimental eating habit by various methods, such as providing them with diets high in fiber and low in fat.

Briefly, only by efforts of schools and families will childhood obesity be totally resolved.