In some countries, it is illegal to reject people applying for jobs because of their ages. Is it a positive or negative development?

In many nations, firms are prohibited to take age into consideration when they recruit new employees. While I consent its implication to social betterment, I opine that this regulation also have drawbacks.

On the one hand, abolishing age restriction in job application is acknowledged to be an advantageous tendency thanks to several reasons. Regarding the community, many governments are endeavoring to establish an egalitarian society, and the assuring equality of opportunities always stands out as the most essential mission. Hence, adopting a policy which provides all citizens with equal access to recruitment, the authority is able to take a big step to achieve such objective. In addition, regarding the economy, obviating age limit is expected to facilitate a phenomenal growth. Indeed, if candidates of all ages are allowed to approach every vacancy, companies will obviously have more options for a certain jobs; as a result, they are more likely to recruit competent employees, who can upgrade labor productivity and maximize their profits.

On the other hand, it is safe to say that the aforementioned regulation raises concerns over public health. Particularly, since adopting premature or retired labors is no longer illegal, enterprises may exploit and force them to toil in working environment with poor hygiene and safety standard, which is detrimental to health and leave them exhausted. For example, when Nigeria policy makers announced that child labors can work in mining industry, a massive number of young adults became blue-collar workers in industrial zones and that subsequently increased the incidence of asthma among children by 20%. In fact, it is citizens themselves who have the right to choose how they treat their bodies, no matter how enormously it will affect their life quality. However, not only do such consequences negatively impact workers’ fitness, but they also create financial burden on families and cripple healthcare system; in other words, even if the policy is ratified to improve social state, the medical externality yielded can make it counter-productive.

Briefly, it seems to me that besides its discernible benefits, making jobs accessible to all age group also create many obstacles.