The best way to resolve the international environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that no measures can tackle multinational heated environmental issues more effectively than lifting up fuel cost. While I accept that more expensive energy may remedy a number of ecological concerns, I believe that there are several solutions which are more beneficial.

On the one hand, gaining petroleum price is recognized to alleviate many environmental obstacles. Indeed, when energy becomes exorbitant, its financial burden may prompt citizens to decline their uses of private vehicles, which is accompanied by a decrease in exhausted gases. For example, when Amsterdam authority adopted a policy to upsurge fuel cost by 30%, traffic flow in rush hours was eased dramatically, and that resulted in a cut down of 15% in greenhouse gas emission. In other words, fossil energy available in a higher price inevitably leads to an adaption among residents, thanks to which they unintentionally take action on air pollution. By contrast, if fuel cost remains affordable, people are less likely to adjust their commuting habits, so the atmosphere will continues to be enormously contaminated.

On the other hand, numerous efficient measures are considered as solutions that can overshadow the aforementioned proposal. To begin with, it is highly recommended that locals should construct wind farms or install solar panel to yield corresponding types of energy. In fact, unlike using fuel, which gradually depletes finite natural resources, a switch to such applications can offer more sustainable options since they are renewable. In addition, adopting a more eco-friendly strategy, which can reduce energy consumption and pollutants, is also urgent for industry sector. Indeed, not only can this resolve ecological challenges but also diminish its reliance on fossil fuel, which is risky due to its predicted scarcity and fluctuating cost.

Briefly, while not disavowing the advantages of increasing finite energy price, I opine that many resolutions offer more significant benefits in fighting against environmental issues.