It is true that while the interest in art has diminished, that in science, technology and business has witnessed an opposite trend. Two major reasons stands out as responsible for this tendency, which can be resolved by a number of strategies.

To begin with, the decline in focus on art can be attributed to two contributing factors. From education perspective, it is the dogmatic transmission of knowledge that deprives art of the ability to arouse learners’ attention. Indeed, in many countries, most art classes put an emphasis on training connoisseurs of visual art, which mainly deliver theoretical facts about art movements rather than certain techniques. Since that abstract knowledge is quite out of their depths, it is believed to constrain the thirst for discovering the discipline among students. From economic perspective, statistics indicated that most artists live on self-employment or temporary contracts, resulting in lacking pension, holiday pay or maternity benefits. In other words, compared to science or business, art is less stable, and it is understandable when people are increasingly prioritize the former due to a more promising job prospect.

However, solutions can be proposed to remedy the aforementioned problem. Regarding to education systems, it is favourable for schools to facilitate a curricula reform, in which equipping students with hands-on experience and art skills is highly recommended. In fact, this enables students to create their own artworks, and that involvement has been scientifically proved to awaken and boost their interests in the subject. Regarding to management, governments should adopt a policy establishing a mixed funding model for the arts, which grants financial support for talented painters, sculptors or photographers. Specifically, if it comes to residents’ knowledge that pursuing fine art can yield a decent life, the gifted are more likely to embark on creative industry.

Briefly, only by efforts of schools and the authority will a lacking focus on art be entirely solved.